Greenhouse Gas Sequestration Task Force Members

Chair Leo R. Asuncion, Jr., Director of State of Hawai‘i Office of Planning

Leo Asuncion is the Director of the Office of Planning, State of Hawai‘i. He is responsible for the overall management, budgeting, oversight, and leadership of the office, development of policies, studies, and reports generated by the office’s team of planning professionals, implementation and management of the federal and state Coastal Zone Management Acts, and representing the office before Federal, State and Local decision makers, communities, and the public.

Previously a Senior Regulatory Analyst and Senior Integrated Resource Planning Analyst with Hawaiian Electric Company, Inc., Mr. Asuncion has experience in project management, land use planning, CIP, policy development, and program evaluation during his 20+ years as a professional planner.

Mr. Asuncion holds BA and MURP degrees from the University of Hawai‘i, an MBA from Hawai‘i Pacific University, and is a member of the American Institute of Certified Planners (AICP) since 1994.

Scott Glenn, Director of State of Hawai‘i Office of Environment Quality Control

Scott Glenn is the Director of the Office of Environmental Quality Control (OEQC). As the Director of OEQC, he is tasked with public education and outreach, conducting research, submitting and providing testimony on legislative initiatives, recommending programs, and providing advice and assistance regarding Hawai‘i’s environmental review process. The Director sits as an ex officio voting member on The Environmental Council, The Advisory Committee on Plants and Animals, and The Emergency Response Commission. Prior to coming to the Office of Environmental Quality Control, Mr. Glenn worked as an environmental planner in the private sector. He received his Master’s Degree in Urban and Regional Planning from the University of Hawai‘i in 2009. Mr. Glenn specializes in asset management, environmental planning and compliance, environmental review, and climate change adaptation planning.

Philipp LaHaela Walter, State of Hawai‘i Division of Forestry and Wildlife

Philipp LaHaela Walter is the State Resource and Survey Forester of the Department of Land and Natural Resources, Division of Forestry and Wildlife. Mr. LaHaela Walter took on a leading role in the Department’s initiatives in Payments for Ecosystem Services (PES) mechanisms including forest carbon capture with a number of groundbreaking pilot projects across the state.

Alternate for Philipp LaHaela: Malia Nanbara, Statewide Service Forester

Malia Nanbara is the Statewide Service Forester at the State of Hawai‘i Department of Land and Natural Resources, Division of Forestry and Wildlife. Ms. Nanbara oversees a number of the Division’s private landowner forestry assistance programs such as the Forest Stewardship Program and the Conservation Reserve Enhancement Program. These programs provide technical and financial assistance to private landowners to actively manage their forests and related resources.

The Honorable Chris Lee, Hawai'i State Representative

State Representative, Chris Lee, serves as Chairman of the Energy and Environmental Protection Committee in the Hawaii State Legislature. First elected in 2008, he has authored the nation’s firs 100% renewable portfolio standard, a net-zero clean energy mandate for all public schools and universities, polices laying the groundwork for a more distributed electric grid, and has been leading efforts to reform utility business and regulatory models. Rep. Lee serves on the boards of several community non-profit organizations and volunteers his time in the community. He is a graduate of Oregon State University.

Michael A. Madsen, P.E., Hawai‘i Department of Health Clean Air Branch

Michael Madsen has 20 years of experience as an Environmental Engineer at the Hawai‘i Department of Health Clean Air Branch (CAB).  Mr. Madsen’s initial work was in CAB’s permitting section to conduct engineering evaluation of the construction and operation of air pollution sources. Mr. Madsen is currently working to develop and implement CAB’s Greenhouse Gas, Regional Haze, and Emissions Inventory Programs.

Alternate for Michael A. Madsen: Keith McFall, P.E., Ph.D., Environmental Engineer, Hawai‘i Department of Health Clean Air Branch Environmental Managed Division

Earl J. Yamamoto, Planner, Hawai‘i Board of Agriculture

Additional members to be added and designated